- 93 Studios - http://ninetythrees.com -

Best of the Week 3

Posted By 93 Studios On September 5, 2009 @ 3:00 pm In Best of the Week | No Comments

Tweet [1]

This week we take a look at simplifying your stories, the storied history of the tabloid and Clairvius Narcisse, Haiti’s most famous Zombie.

The Three Questions of Storytelling [2]

Storytelling is full of different frameworks, and it’s arguable as to whether any of them will turn a crappy tale into something worth reading; however, it’s pretty safe to say that these are three questions that need to be answered before you even think about starting your story.

Simplify Your Stories [3]

I don’t think this point can be said enough.

Stop Trying To Please Everyone [4]

On the importance of realizing that it’s OK that not everyone is going to like what you do.

History of the Tabloid [5]

I really liked this one because of the site it links to which gives you as good an explanation of the history of the tabloid as I’ve ever seen.

On The Sublime And Beautiful [6]

Edward Burke’s look at how newspapers are going to replace books, circa 1902.

Increases In Newspaper Advertising [7]

Everything in media is cyclical. As advertisers now are shifting from newspapers to the web, at one point they shifted just as readily from older forms of advertising to the newspaper.

The Story of Zombification [8]

A clear, concise explanation of the process of zombification. We’re talking about Haitian Zombies not Romero’s brain-eaters.

Clairvius Narcisse [9]

Clairvius Narcisse is one of the most famous Haitian “zombies.” Learn a bit more about this life, his death and his, er, undeath.

Bokors [10]

Wondering who is responsible for all those crazy Haitian Zombies running around? Meet the Bokor. Which, now that I think about it, would be a great title for a movie.

Related Posts


Article printed from 93 Studios: http://ninetythrees.com

URL to article: http://ninetythrees.com/botw/best-of-the-week-3/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tweet: https://twitter.com/share

[2] The Three Questions of Storytelling: http://ninetythrees.com/stories/three-questions-to-ask-when-storytelling

[3] Simplify Your Stories: http://ninetythrees.com/stories/simplify-your-stories/

[4] Stop Trying To Please Everyone: http://ninetythrees.com/stories/stop-trying-to-please-everyone/

[5] History of the Tabloid: http://ninetythrees.com/newspapers/explore-the-history-of-the-tabloids

[6] On The Sublime And Beautiful: http://ninetythrees.com/newspapers/edward-burke-on-the-sublime-and-beautiful

[7] Increases In Newspaper Advertising: http://ninetythrees.com/newspapers/increases-in-newspaper-advertising-1921

[8] The Story of Zombification: http://ninetythrees.com/zombie/a-zombification-story/

[9] Clairvius Narcisse: http://ninetythrees.com/zombie/clairvius-narcisse-haitis-most-famous-zombie

[10] Bokors: http://ninetythrees.com/zombie/black-magic-and-the-bokor/

[11] Image: http://ninetythrees.com/botw/best-of-the-week-6/

[12] Image: http://ninetythrees.com/botw/best-of-the-week-5/

[13] Image: http://ninetythrees.com/botw/best-of-the-week-4/

[14] Image: http://ninetythrees.com/botw/best-of-the-week-2/

[15] Image: http://ninetythrees.com/botw/best-of-the-week-1/

Copyright © 2009 93 Studios. All rights reserved.